KSTDC Package Tours

Home >KSTDC Luxury Train

KSTDC Luxury Train

Golden Chariot

One of the luxurious trains that is operational in southern part of India and connects different tourist locations located in states of Karnataka, Kerala and Tamil Nadu, Goa and Pondicherry. The name of train is associated with Stone Chariot found in Vitthala temple located in Hampi. The color of 19 coaches is in purple and gold displaying logo of mythological animal that has an elephant’s head and lion’s body. The operational time of Golden Chariot is in the months from October to March with an every week departure starting on Monday. The first ever Golden Chariot train was started on 10th March, 2008.

The design of the train is associated with other luxurious trains of country. At World Travel Awards of 2013, it was named as “Asia’s Leading Luxury Train” operated by KSTDC and the Maple Group working for its hospitality.


The Golden Chariot comprises of 44 different cabins that are part of 11 different coaches and have been named on the rulers of different reigns: -

  1. Kadamba
  2. Rashtrakuta
  3. Chalukya
  4. Adil Shahi
  5. Satavahana
  6. Vijayanagar
  7. Hoysala
  8. Ganga
  9. Bahamani
  10. Sangama
  11. Yadukula

The luxurious train also comprises of two restaurants, lounge bar, conference room, and gym and spa facility. The train also has Wi-Fi facility and satellite operated television channels in each and every cabin.


There are two different types of itineraries that are offered by Golden Chariot. These two itineraries are referred as Pride of South and Splendor of the South.

Pride of the South

The itinerary offered under Pride of the South comprises of a total 8 days and 7 nights covering different tourist locations in state of Karnataka. The various destinations traversed under this itinerary comprises of:

  1. Day 1 – Bangalore
  2. Day 2 – Mysore
  3. Day 3 – Nagarhole National Park
  4. Day 4 – Hassan, Belur, Karnataka and Halebidu
  5. Day 5 – Hampi and Hospet
  6. Day 6 – Badami, Pattadakal and Aihole
  7. Day 7 – Goa
  8. Day 8 – Return Journey to Bengaluru

Splendor of the South

The itinerary offered under Splendor of the South comprises of total 8 days and 7 nights covering three different states of southern part of India that are Pondicherry, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Karnataka. The various destinations travelled under this itinerary comprises of:

  1. Day 1 – Bangalore
  2. Day 2 – Chennai
  3. Day 3 – Pondicherry
  4. Day 4 – Tanjavur
  5. Day 5 – Madurai
  6. Day 6 – Thiruvananthapuram
  7. Day 7 – Kochi and Allepey
  8. Day 8 – Return to Bengaluru


Room Type Plan Tariff
Pride of South Single - 7Nights 154,000
Pride of South Double - 7 Nights 115,500
Pride of South Triple - 7 Nights 92,400
Southern Splendor Single - 7Nights 184,800
Southern Splendor Double - 7 Nights 138,600
Southern Splendor Triple - 7 Nights 115,500 
Bookmark and Share